browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

Oscar Wilde and Dead Man’s Smile

Oscar Wilde and Dead Man’s Smile

from the Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries Series
by Gyles Brandreth 


 Paris, 1883. Oscar Wilde, aged 27, has come to the city of decadence to discover its charms, to rekindle his friendship with the divine Sarah Bernhardt and to collaborate with France’s most celebrated actor-manager, Edmond La Grange.

As he throws himself into his work (and his pleasures), Oscar discovers dark secrets lying at the heart of the La Grange company – and is confronted by murders, both foul and bizarre. To solve the crimes, to unravel the mystery, Oscar risks his life – and his reputation – embarking on a dangerous adventure that takes him from bohemian night clubs to an asylum for the insane, from a duel in the Buttes de Chaumont to the gates of Reading Gaol.

This is the third in Gyles Brandreth’s acclaimed series of Victorian murder mysteries featuring Oscar Wilde and Arthur Conan Doyle.